Sergio Garcia disqualified from Saudi International for his errant behavior

0

Sergio Garcia, the 2017 Masters champion was disqualified from the inaugural $3,500,000 Saudi International on Saturday for serious misconduct.

The World No.27 shot a round of 1-over 71 and is believed to have damaged up to five greens. Garcia was handed over a disqualification from the tournament under Rule 1.2a. Becoming the first player on the European Tour to be disqualified under the said rule.

According to Rule 1.2a, which relates to player conduct, under the new Rules of Golf:

  • It declares that players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course.
  • It unequivocally states the Committee’s authority to disqualify a player for any serious misconduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.
  • In place of the unclear previous concept of “breach of etiquette”, it uses the more direct and stronger phrases “misconduct” and “serious misconduct.” 
    In a statement, García said: “I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, which I apologize for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”

Moreover, he is understood to have received a $900,000 as appearance fee for the tournament.

Share.

Leave A Reply