Ryder Cup this week live on Eurosport

Ryder Cup

Ryder Cup

Arguably the world’s most watched golf event – the Ryder Cup, the biennial men’s team competition between Europe and USA will be broadcast live in India on Eurosport over three days starting late Friday September 24th night, India time from Whistling Straits Golf Club in Wisconsin, USA. There are very few events that invoke such passion and excitement as the fate of the matches swing with several individual games going on simultaneously on the final day. 

The event is not short on story lines. In a recent Golf Digest’s interview of four time major winner and former No.1 Brooks Koepka, opened up about how the team format is not suited for him, that he performs better solo. This statement alone drove US fans crazy and even elicited comments to remove him from the team.  That interview added to his rivalry with Bryson DeChambeau made so much noise on social media that Ryder Cup USA had to clarify that Brooks was in fact still keen to play on team USA. 

Europe boasts of 48-year-old Lee Westwood, who is entering his record tying 11th Ryder Cup. Past Masters Champion Spanish Sergio Garcia has 25 points to his resume, the most in history. Another Spaniard, John Rahm, US Open winner and current World No. 1 is apparently the only top-10 world ranked player on Europe’s side and is sure to perform supremely. 

The only positive outcome in the past decade for team USA came with their win at the 2016 edition, but that too against a Europe team which consisted of six rookies.

But now, Collin Morikawa, who was just a rookie when the last Ryder Cup was played, now has two major and a World Golf Championship  to his name,  plus Captain’s pick, Xander Schauffele, the Olympic Gold Medalist will be strong additions to the team and with the home advantage, team USA might have better chances of getting the better of Europe. It will all boil down to grit, determination and team spirit. Enjoy watching !! 

Team USA –

Captain – Steve Stricker

Vice-Captain – Fred Couples

Vice-Captain – Jim Furyk

Vice-Captain – Zach Johnson

Vice-Captain – Davis Love III

Vice-Captain – Phil Mickelson

Playing Members

Collin Morikawa

Dustin Johnson

Bryson DeChambeau

Brooks Koepka

Justin Thomas

Patrick Cantlay

Tony Finau

Xander Schauffele

Harris English

Jordan Spieth

Daniel Berger

Scottie Scheffler

Team Europe –

Captain – Padraig Harrington

Vice-Captain – Luke Donald

Vice-Captain – Robert Karlsson

Vice-Captain – Martin Kaymer

Vice-Captain – Graeme McDowell

Vice-Captain – Henrik Stenson

Playing Members

Rory McIlroy

Jon Rahm

Paul Casey

Matt Fitzpatrick

Tyrrell Hatton

Tommy Fleetwood

Viktor Hovland 

Lee Westwood

Bernd Weisberger

Sergio Garcia

Ian Poulter

Shane Lowry

Photo – Golf Digest

Read more latest stories

Your Feedback Please