Hero Indian Open 2021 date listed by European Tour


The European Tour  unveiled its tournament schedule for 2021 which includes 43 events, with  the Indian Open listed for  October 28th – 31st. 

The schedule does not list either  the venue nor the prize fund yet. The past few editions have seen a $1.75 mn purse at the DLF Golf & Country Club. Other clubs having hosted the Indian Open are Delhi Golf Club, Royal Calcutta Golf Club where the event was held in alternative years from 1964 to 1996;  Classic Golf Resort ( 2000 & 2001) & Karnataka Golf Association ( 2012). 

RELATED: HSBC renews mega golf sponsorship

The 2019 edition (56th) saw Stephen Gallagcher of Scotland taking the top honours.

The Hero Indian Open’s last Indian winner was SSP Chawrasia in 2016 & 2017 and fans will see how Indian favourites, Anirban Lahiri, SSP Chawrasia, Jyoti Randhawa, Gaganjeet Bhullar, Ajeetesh Sandhu, added with young stars Karandeep Kochhar, Viraj Madappa, Aman Raj, Kshitij  Kaul and Shubhankar Sharma perform next year..

The tournament was started in 1964, with major support of five-time British Open champion Peter Thomson.  He would himself win the tournament three times (1964, 1966 and 1976). The longest continuously running annual international sporting event in India, the Hero Indian Open has been previously called: Indian Open (1964-1989), Wills Indian Open (1990-1996), Classic Indian Open (1997- 2001), Royal Challenge Indian Open (2002-2004) and Hero Honda Indian Open (2005-2010) before assuming its current name since 2011. S.S.P. Chawrasia’s successive wins in 2016 (at DGC) and 2017 (at DLF G&CC) made him the first Indian to successfully defend a European Tour title.

Comments are closed.