IGU Election attracts controversy


As many Indian golfers know, the IGU has been facing headwinds as the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs had some years ago directed the IGU to rewrite its constitution in keeping with the National Sports Code ( NSC), which IGU delayed rewriting for a variety of reasons.

Basically, as per the NSC, voting members of the IGU have to be representatives of state golf associations instead of golf clubs. And each state would have one vote no matter whether they had ten golf courses or one, or in some cases, no golf course at all ! Since state golf associations had never been formed earlier, there was a sudden rush to register these bodies. Surprisingly,  Army Officers have formed and occupied many of the positions in the state associations.

Lt Gen Anbu, while serving as Vice Chief of Army Staff, had been voted President of the IGU since 2018, in what is called a “caretaker” role. However it has become apparent that the Army intends to keep the presidency and wants to control a majority of the State associations which might mean that they can continue to vote Army officers in as the office bearers of the IGU for many years to come.

Many golf administrators feel Army Officers controlling the IGU may not serve in the best interests of the game since Army courses firstly are not open to civilian play , they are called “Army Environmental and Protected/ Training Areas ( AEPTA)” and not golf courses.

Army courses don’t host national tournaments and don’t possess golf academies for training promising and top Indian players.  All the important golf activity takes place at civilian courses and that too on just a handful of the 18 hole championship quality courses that exist. 

You can read veteran sports writer G Rajaraman’s detailed analysis of the controversial manner in which the Electoral College has been compiled. Click on circleofsport.com/

On December 18th, a handful of experienced golf administrators were called in, as per required process to scrutinise the electoral rolls and record their observations, objections  and approval. All objections were summarily rejected by the returning officer, who is, incidentally appointed by the office bearers of IGU themselves, which virtually guarantees that impartiality of judgement could be compromised. Read all about it here in yet another insightful piece by Rajaraman: Anbu set to lead IGU after Returning Officer over-rules objections against all nominees

For those who are interested in knowing who their state golf association’s representatives are – here is the list reproduced for your convenience. 

The Indian Golf Union

Election of Office Bearers and Members of Governing Council for 2020-22

Sr NoName of Affiliated Member State
Name of Authorized
Representatives -1
Name of Authorized
Representatives -2
1Andaman & Nicobar Islands Golf
Lt Col Yogendra Duhan Capt Parikshit Bishnoi
2Arunachal Pradesh Golf
Lt Gen Harpal SinghBrig Jose Abraham
3AP Golf AssociationMr AV Monish RowCmde G Vinod Babu
4All Golf Clubs Association Tamil
Mr Ishwar AchantaMr S Raamasubramanian
5Assam Golf Association Mr CK BhuyanMr Ajay Jalan
6Bengal Golf AssociationMr Anil BhargavaMr Dipak Barma
7Chandigarh Golf AssociationMr PS PruthiMr Ranjit Kumar
8Delhi Golf SocietyMr Amit LuthraMr Rakesh Sharm
9Goa Golf AssociationCapt Harvinder AvtarCapt Luvkeesh Thakur
10Golf Course Owners Association
Mr Devang ShahMr Sameer Sinha
11Himachal Pradesh Proam Golf
Lt Gen VK MishraCol Vishal Pathak
12Jharkhand Golf SocietyMr Farzan HeerjeeMaj Gen KS Brar
13Kerala Golf FederationMr John ThomasMr S N Raghuchandran
14Madhya Prant Golf AssociationLt Gen Asit MistryLt Col Ashish Rana
15Maharashtra State Golf AssociationMr Brijinder SinghMs Nina Alagh
16Meghalaya Golf Promoters SocietyMr Gaurav BajajCol SG Dilbagi
17Manipur State Golf AssociationMr Rachandra SinghMaj Santosh
18North Star Golf Association J&K Lt Gen D AnbuCol Pushp K Chaudhary
19Nagaland Golf AssociationCol R Balasubramanian Lt Col Dipankar Gogoi
20Orrisa Golf AssociationMr Asit Kumar TripathyMr Tapan Kumar Mohanty
21Punjab Golf AssociationMr SK SharmaMr Gurjit Singh Lehal
22Red Shield Gunners Association
Col Sanjay DhallCol Rohit Gupta
23Rajasthan Golf AssociationMr Shyam SunderMr Navdeep Singh
24Sikkim State Golf AssociationBrig KS DhadwalLt Col Sandeep Bajwa
25Telangana Golf AssociationMr Bhaskar A ReddyMr Mir Nasir Ali Khan
26UP Golf SocietyLt Gen AKS ChandeleMr Sanjeev Rattan
27Uttranchal Golf FederationMr VK DandonaCol Atul Thapliyal



Comments are closed.