Kurt Kitayama wins the Oman Open, Bhullar T-27


Kurt Kitayama produced a remarkable comeback at Al Mouj Golf Club to win his second European Tour title of the season at the $1,750,000 Oman Open.

RELATED: DJ wins WGC-Mexico Championship

The weather delayed event saw him finish a shot behind the leader after 36 holes. His third round was what not you expect to happen en route to a win, he made a quadruple bogey on eight and dropped further shots on the second and third before darkness ended proceedings.

After this, he was seven strokes behind the leader and to play a marathon 33 holes on Sunday. He made seven birdies and an eagle to sign for a 71 in his third round. His final round was nothing less than magic where he was still two shots back with three holes to play but birdies on the 16th and 17th saw him sign for a 70 and get to seven under, a shot clear of Spaniard Jorge Campillo, German Maximilian Kieffer, Frenchman Clément Sordet and Paraguay’s Fabrizio Zanotti.


Gaganjeet Bhullar T-27

Ranked 139 in the world, Gaganjeet Bhullar shot rounds of 71, 69, 72 and 78 for a total score of 2-over 290 to stand T-27 with Mike Lorenzo Vera, Max Schmitt, and Deyen Lawson.

Interestingly Bhullar remained in the hunt for his second European Tour title until 50 holes, when he remained bogey-free for 70% of the time on the course. His final round started with back to back bogeys and later saw him posting two doubles, he had to play over 34 holes on Sunday to complete his remaining rounds at the tournament.

2019 Oman Open purse, winner’s share, prize money payout –

1Kurt Kitayama-7256,2472,06,20,775
T-2Jorge Campillo-6102,28782,31,266
T-2Maximilian Kieffer-6102,28782,31,266
T-2Clément Sordet-6102,28782,31,266
T-2Fabrizio Zanotti -6102,28782,31,266
T-6Joachim B. Hansen-546,12537,11,783
T-6Peter Hanson-546,12537,11,783
T-6Thomas Pieters-546,12537,11,783
T-9Ashley Chesters-431,16025,07,516
T-9Scott Jamieson-431,16025,07,516
T-9Chris Paisley-431,16025,07,516
T-12Victor Dubuisson-223,29318,74,440
T-12David Horsey-223,29318,74,440
T-12Joost Luiten-223,29318,74,440
T-12Gavin Moynihan-223,29318,74,440
T-12Jordan Smith-223,29318,74,440
T-12Jeff Winther-223,29318,74,440
T-18Sean Crocker-119,11615,38,308
T-18Benjamin Herbert-119,11615,38,308
T-18Thongchai Jaidee-119,11615,38,308
T-21Hugg Leon 017,60514,16,714
T-21Sebastian Soderberg017,60514,16,714
T-23 David Borda+116,22113,05,340
T-23 Louis De Jager+116,22113,05,340
T-23 David Drysdale+116,22113,05,340
T-23 Hideto Tanihara+116,22113,05,340
T-27Gaganjeet Bhullar+214,37611,56,869
T-27Deyen Lawson+214,37611,56,869
T-27Mike Lorenzo Vera+214,37611,56,869
T-27Max Schmitt+214,37611,56,869
T-31Miko Korhonnen+311,6349,36,214
T-31Thomas Aiken +311,6349,36,214
T-31Nick Cullen+311,6349,36,214
T-31Scott Hend+311,6349,36,214
T-31Richard McEvoy+311,6349,36,214
T-31Andrea Pavan+311,6349,36,214
T-31Brandon Stone+311,6349,36,214
T-31Justin Walters+311,6349,36,214
T-31Adrien Saddier+311,6349,36,214
T-40Jinho Choi+49,3797,54,749
T-40Nicolas Colaserts+49,3797,54,749
T-40Thomas Detry+49,3797,54,749
T-40Darren Fichardt+49,3797,54,749
T-40Filipo Bergamaschi+49,3797,54,749
T-45Adri Arnaus +56,9195,56,788
T-45Matthew Baldwin+56,9195,56,788
T-45Nino Bertasio+56,9195,56,788
T-45Bradley Dredge+56,9195,56,788
T-45Rapahel Jacquelin+56,9195,56,788
T-45Espen Kofstad+56,9195,56,788
T-45Romain Langasque+56,9195,56,788
T-45Zander Lombard+56,9195,56,788
T-45Robert Macintrye+56,9195,56,788
T-45Matteo Manessero+56,9195,56,788
T-45Ieunghun Wang+56,9195,56,788
T-56Masahiro Kawamura+64,9203,95,924
T-56Oliver Wilson+64,9203,95,924
T-58John Catlin+74,4593,58,826
T-58Paul Dunne+74,4593,58,826
T-58Pedro Figueiredo+74,4593,58,826
T-61Jaco Van Zyl+84,0743,27,844
T-61Victor Perez+84,0743,27,844
T-63Guido Migliozzi+103,6132,90,746
T-63Yusaku Miyazato+103,6132,90,746
T-63Matthew Southgate+103,6132,90,746
T-63Scott Vincent+103,6132,90,746
T-67Christiaan Bezuidenhout+113,0752,47,452
T-67Shubhankar Sharma+113,0752,47,452
T-67Ashun Wu+113,0752,47,452
70Andy Sullivan+132,8112,26.208
71James Morrison+142,3061,85,569

*1€ = ₹80.47

Comments are closed.

India Golf Weekly