408 golfers for Royal Premier Golf League


The sixth edition of the Royal Calcutta Golf Club’s Royal Premier Golf League (RPGL), , is scheduled to start from January 8. The event will feature 24 teams of 17 players each, in a three-month long tournament, billed as the largest of its kind in Asia.

First golf league in India of its kind. In the first edition, the league consisted of 14 team owners- each team consisting of 18 players.

The team owners select  teams from members of RCGC. The teams are divided into 2 groups who play round robin matches culminating in a semi- final and final. The matches are played in Four ball better ball matchplay format .

The RPGL was the first club league in India and its success encouraged other clubs including KGA Bangalore, Pune GC and Bombay Presidency GC among others to launch leagues of their own. 

The benefit of these leagues is they encourage members to improve on their games – and so the number of rounds played, lessons taken, new equipment & apparel sales have all received a huge boost at these clubs. 

Comments are closed.