Dustin Johnson wins WGC-Mexico Championship , moves to No.2 on OWGR


Dustin Johnson took over Rory McIlroy in the second round of WGC-Mexico Championship at Club de Golf Chapultepec and never looked back until he finished the job on Sunday, that too in a dominating fashion. DJ shot final round 66 to clinch the title with five-strokes over the Irishman, making it his fifth WGC title and total 20th PGA TOUR title.

RELATED: Rickie Fowler wins Waste Management Phoenix Open

In so doing, DJ became only the 38th player in the history of the game to win 20 or more PGA TOUR titles. The last man to win his 20th title on the Tour was 44-year-old Davis Love III in 2008.

This win came within three weeks of the much talked Saudi International, his maiden European Tour title, this win has given him 72 ranking points and has helped him climb to World No.2 on the Official World Golf Ranking.

The Irishman who is winless since last March when he conquered the Arnold Palmer Invitational, with three stokes over Bryson DeChambeau, said, “No contest, especially here. His drives are going 380 down the middle of the fairway and he’s holing most of the putts he looks at.”

Let’s find out how much each golfer earned in the field at $10,250,000 WGC – Mexico Championshi at Club de Golf Chapultepec, Mexico.

1Dustin Johnson-211,745,00012,39,13,322
2Rory McIlroy-161,095,0007,77,56,497
T-3Paul Casey-11472,0003,35,16,956
T-3Ian Poulter-11472,0003,35,16,956
T-3Kiradech Aphibarnrat-11472,0003,35,16,956
T-6Sergio Garcia-10261,6671,85,81,104
T-6Patrick Cantlay-10261,6671,85,81,104
T-6Cameron Smith-10261,6671,85,81,104
9Justin Thomas-9201,0001,42,73,110
T-10Joost Luiten-8161,5001,14,68,196
T-10Keegan Bradley-8161,5001,14,68,196
T-10Tiger Woods-8161,5001,14,68,196
T-10David Lipsky-8161,5001,14,68,196
T-14Charles Howell III-7128,00090,89,344
T-14Xander Schauffele-7128,00090,89,344
T-14Patrick Reed-7128,00090,89,344
T-17Francesco Molinari-6115,50082,01,713
T-17Gary Woodland-6115,50082,01,713
T-19Li Haotong-5103,75073,67,339
T-19Aaron Wise-5103,75073,67,339
T-19Rafael Cabrera Bello-5103,75073,67,339
T-19Tyrrell Hatton-5103,75073,67,339
T-19Hideki Matsuyama-5103,75073,67,339
T-19Tommy Fleetwood-5103,75073,67,339
T-25Tony Finau-493,25066,21,729
T-25Louis Oosthuizen-493,25066,21,729
T-27Brooks Koepka-385,00060,35,893
T-27Patton Kizzire-385,00060,35,893
T-27Bubba Watson-385,00060,35,893
T-27Matthew Fitzpatrick-385,00060,35,893
T-27Danny Willett-385,00060,35,893
T-27Kevin Kisner-385,00060,35,893
T-33Branden Grace-278,000
T-33Matt Wallace-278,000
T-33Lee Westwood-278,000
T-36Rickie Fowler-175,00053,25,788
T-36Kevin Na-175,00053,25,788
T-36Erik van Rooyen-175,00053,25,788
T-39Shugo ImahiraE70,500
T-39Webb SimpsonE70,500
T-39Abraham AncerE70,500
T-39Russell KnoxE70,50050,06,240
T-39Phil MickelsonE70,50050,06,240
T-39Alexander BjorkE70,50050,06,240
T-45Billy Horschel165,00046,15,683
T-45Thorbjorn Olesen165,00046,15,683
T-45Byeong-Hun An165,00046,15,683
T-45Jake McLeod165,00046,15,683
T-45Jon Rahm165,00046,15,683
50 Matt Kuchar26200044,016,90
T-51 Aaron Rai360,00042,60,630
T-51 Satoshi Kodaira360,00042,60,630
T-51Richard Sterne360,00042,60,630
T-54Henrik Stenson457,50040,82,212
T-54Jordan Spieth457,50040,82,212
T-56George Coetzee 655,50039,40,223
T-56Bryson DeChambeau655,50039,40,223
T-58Kyle Stanley753,500
T-58Emiliano Grillo753,500
T-60Shubhankar Sharma851,75036,73,991
T-60Adrian Otaegui851,75036,73,991
T-62Shane Lowry950,50035,85,248
T-62Alexander Noren950,50035,85,248
T-62Marc Leishman950,50035,85,248
T-65Chez Reavie1049,62535,23,127
T-65Tom Lewis1049,62535,23,127
T-67Ryan Fox1149,12534,87,629
T-67Eddie Pepperell1149,12534,87,629
69Lucas Bjerregaard1348,75034,61,006
70Matthew Millar1748,50034,43,258
71Shaun Norris2048,25034,25,509

*1$ = ₹ 71.00

Comments are closed.